VMware Cloud Community
VjAtFuGen
Contributor
Contributor

Clone from a SnapShot?

Hi,

I am new to the Virtualization technology, so this may be a dumb question - Is it possible to create a clone of VM using a snapshot of the machine rather than the current running version?

When we checked the Perl Toolkit there was a script called "clone.pl". But it appearst that this script supports cloning from a currently running version. If we can clone from a snapshot, how does one identify a snapshot and clone as a new VM?

Thanks for your responses,

Vijay

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Yes it is but it requires using the command line.

Add a snapshot to the VM you want to clone, then log into the command line and use

vmkfstools -i /vmfs/volumes/yourvol/yourvm/yourvm.vmdk /vmfs/volumes/yourvol/yourclone/yourclone.vmdk.

Then create a new VM and select use an existing disk and point to yourclone.vmdk. You can remove the snapshot from the original VM when the vmkfstools operation is complete.

Have a read of this article for more details: http://vmetc.com/2008/05/26/cloning-a-running-virtual-machine-using-the-service-console/

VjAtFuGen
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

Thanks much for the helpful post and pointing us to the article on cloning using Service Console. However, I do have a basic question - how does one login to the Service Console of the host? I tried SSH / Telnet using Putty but get a Connection Refused error from the VmHost.

Thanks once again,

Vijay

0 Kudos
Chris_Howard
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

I presume you are using an ESX host, not vmware server etc.

If so, by default the root account cannot log on remotely via ssh.

You will need to log in locally on the console first, or use ilo or similar to do this.

- you may then change the ssh config by editing the file /etc/ssh/sshd_config, and setting the line that says PermitRootLogin to Yes, and then restarting the sshd service (service restart sshd).