VMware Cloud Community
powers
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Can't see SAN/lun in Add storage

I'm trying to add a disk/lun to the esx host, yet its not seeing anything.

I have a ra4100 san (not on the HCL, which does concern me) a compaq FC switch, no zoning and no masking set.

A windows box can see/read/write to the luns, so I know its working.

Rescanning the HBA in the esx box is producing nothing.

If I understand this correctly, when I rescan the HBA, then add storage, I should get a list of all LUNs available to use (regardless if they have been formatted by windows?)

I'm a SAN/FC newbie, so its likely I have missed something here...... :smileygrin:

Help much appreciated...

0 Kudos
11 Replies
sbeaver
Leadership
Leadership

Look in the event logs for anything about "snapshots"

Steve Beaver

VMware Communities User Moderator

*Virtualization is a journey, not a project.*

Steve Beaver
VMware Communities User Moderator
VMware vExpert 2009 - 2020
VMware NSX vExpert - 2019 - 2020
====
Co-Author of "VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center"
(ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach
Come check out my blog: [www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog|http://www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog/]
Come follow me on twitter http://www.twitter.com/sbeaver

**The Cloud is a journey, not a project.**
powers
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

The event log just shows Task: rescan all hba and Task: Rescan VMFS. Nothing else other than the odd virtual memory alarm.

0 Kudos
taits
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

After you do a 'rescan' do 'dmesg' on the command line of the ESX server you issued the 'rescan' from. You will see entires for the scan and check there for any errors.

powers
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Can't see anything of significance - its full of these

hda: ATAPI reset complete

end_request: I/O error, dev 03:00 (hda), sector 1254314

hda: cdrom_decode_status: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }

hda: cdrom_decode_status: error=0x30LastFailedSense 0x03

hda: irq timeout: status=0xd0