VMware Cloud Community
dcrocker
Contributor
Contributor

Can't connect VC to host

I am new to VMWare and new to Linux as well, so be gentle. I have upgraded to ESX 3.5 and VC 2.5. I am unable to get the VC connected to the host. I was having some trouble with this before the upgrade. When I try to connect, I get a message saying unable to load the vitrual center clent. I have troubleshoot and believe the problem is because the \var partition is full. I see a lot of logs in the log directory, but am not sure what can be deleted safely. Also, why has it filled up in the first place. So perhaps it is a config issue that is causing it? Should I be looking at any other directories within var as well for cleanup? This is not yet in production, but needs to be soon.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
demz
Expert
Expert

Can you post the result of the command vdf -h on your ESX host ?

This will show the usage of all your partition including the VMFS part.

0 Kudos
dcrocker
Contributor
Contributor

Here is a screen capture bitmap.

0 Kudos
TomHowarth
Leadership
Leadership

can you try and post that again please

Tom Howarth

VMware Communities User Moderator

Tom Howarth VCP / VCAP / vExpert
Blog: http://www.planetvm.net
Contributing author on VMware vSphere and Virtual Infrastructure Security: Securing ESX and the Virtual Environment
Contributing author on VCP VMware Certified Professional on VSphere 4 Study Guide: Exam VCP-410
0 Kudos
dcrocker
Contributor
Contributor

Attached is the results of vdf -h.

0 Kudos
demz
Expert
Expert

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on

/dev/sda2 5.0G 5.0G 0 100% /var/log

In fact your /var partition if full

0 Kudos
dcrocker
Contributor
Contributor

So how do I go about cleaning it up? It looks to me like the log directory is what is full. How much of what is in a log directory can be deleted?

0 Kudos
TomHowarth
Leadership
Leadership

as a rule of thumb and directory ending in a number, these are logs that have rolled over.

Tom Howarth