VMware Cloud Community
Cloneranger
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Best ISCSI setup for load balancing/failover?

Hi guys,

I am sure you can help me,

I am new to ISCSI SANs having always used FC before,

What would be the best pratice iyo for this setup?

I have an Equallogic PS3600x and am due to recieve another soon,

I have 8 vmware hosts, to connect to it,

I plan to use a dedicated ISCSI lan,

I terms of connetivity I have 4 gigabit ports free in each host for connection to the ISCSI LAN,

I have a pair of Cisco 4948s to handle the switching, I have configed these for flow control and jumbos, - not sure if I should stack these?

My first concern is resiliance, then performance,

So I would like some sort of multipathing going on, as I had in the MSA1000s I am replacing,

I have also heard on here that the MS ISCSI initiator outperforms the VMKernal one, thoughts?

Should I create two vSwitches with two links in each? and patch one link into each pSwitch?

There are quite I few combinations of connectivity between the 4948s and the guest OSs, any kind of insight would be much appreciated,

TIA guys,

Aaron

0 Kudos
8 Replies
doctormiru
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi

At least you don't need the MS iSCSI Initiator to use iSCSI storage for your VMs.

The usage of multipathing within iSCSI storage environments is only supported using hardware iSCSI adapters. The esx SW-iSCSI initiator does provide any multipathing configuration. See the HCL for supported iSCSI HW adapters.

Using the ESX SW initiator increases CPU load of your SC and the throughput is not as high as with HW offload engines.

regards

Michael

0 Kudos
Cloneranger
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi,

I thought the Hardware initiators were only experimentally supported in ESX?

Or am I lagging behind in my ISCSI knowledge?

Surely if your LAN connection is resiliant your ISCSI storage is resiliant?

0 Kudos
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hardware iSCSI adapters are now fully supported. Check QLogic and VMware HCL for the list of the HBAs