VMware Cloud Community
Padone
Contributor
Contributor

vCPU charts versus perfmon (yet...)

Hi all,

I'm in charge of administration of a dozen of Windows hosted by an ESX. Windows perf are monitored by System Center Operation Manager. Those machines were P2V, dual proc, and host an business application. I have no idea of the process used for the P2V (I'm new in the company). Those Windows used ~25% (average) for the counter % Processor Time _Total (SCOM and Perfmon).

I have no problem with those computers but my VM team came this morning and they told me I have a serious CPU issue on my VMs. They show my their vCPU graph from VI3 of my poor computers and... It shows an average utilization of 60% and sometimes up to 90%. What's wrong ? My computers seems to be ok, perfmon agrees, and application users don't encounter trouble neither.

I search some tips over the Internet and I found similar case for bad P2V (on multiprocess) process. But my VM team said, "no no newbee we follow the right process, downgrade to one process then P2V then migrate etc...". So, who is right?

Should I believe perfmon? What about the vCPU charts?

Is it a known case on ESX? If yes, is there a KB or something like that I can use to repair my Windows or show to the VM team? How can I be sure ... and not fired if I said "hey guys today Windows is right Smiley Wink you screwed up!" Please advice...

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Erik_Zandboer
Expert
Expert

Hi,