VMware Cloud Community
Eddnow
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

installing lsi megaraid sas 8300xlp controller on esx 3.02

Hello,

I'm a ict teacher from Belgium, newbi in esx server.

How can install esx server with lsi megaraid sas 8300xlp controller?

Is there someone that can help??

I have the esx 3.02 image from vmware on a asus rackserver SAS RS162-E4 RX4 with extra card sas 8300xlp

thanks

ps we have not budget at school to buy a new server

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
devzero
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

no - he isn`t lost.

he just needs some linux knowledge and some deeper insight into what hardware linux drivers support.

it´s a shame, but the vmware lsilogic driver works with 8300xlp, but vmware doesn`t make use of it.

since many (most?) esx drivers are derived (borrowed? stolen? Smiley Wink from linux drivers, esx could probably support much more hardware out of the box.

maybe the problem is certification: what hasn`t been tested and certified is not on the hcl, and then vmware will probably not touch that hardware at all because it`s not on their internal "whitelist".

anyway - take a look at http://communities.vmware.com/message/695520#695520

esx on 8300xlp running fine for a couple of months now.

maybe the idea of jason perlow at is not too bad - otherwise i really assume vmware is that "dead duck in 2011" ( http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1895,2216435,00.asp )

vmware - are you listening?

could you please certify 8300xlp controller?

your customers want to install esx on the hardware they have. the don`t want to buy extra hardware for that, especially if vmware esx already has the appropriate drivers builtin !

regards

Roland

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
oreeh
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

If ESX doesn't recognize the controller you're lost.

0 Kudos
devzero
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

no - he isn`t lost.