VMware Cloud Community
Dyno69
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

help setting up 5 hard drives

i'm pretty new to this whole VMWare thing. i have a computer with a Gigabyte GA-M55Plus-S3G mobo which has 2 IDE Controllers and 4 Sata ports with a Nvidia raid that does 0, 1, 0+1 and 5.

so i've installed VMWare i think some GSX thing so i installed a IDE 40GB has my main hard drive for OS. then when i try to install the 4 Sata drives after i get 3 in on the 4th one it says something about no more IDE. is there anyway to get around this error and install my last sata hard drive so VMware can detect 5 Hard drives.

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kharbin
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

Just install the hard drives, format them, and make available to the OS (as E:, F:, etc if Windows, /u, /u1, etc. if Linux).

Create a new VM, select custom.

Whe adding virtual hard drives, select SCSI.

You'll need to select a virtual controller, use LSILogig unless the guest OS does not support it.

Then it will ask to create a new vDisk, use existing vDisk, or use a raw device. You can use either, but if using raw disks, loose all the great benefits of a VM.

Then it will allow you to assign a SCSI channel, 0:0 by default.

Add a second drive, SCSI, make 0:1, etc. until all added.

Also, the manual explains this very well, as well as the theory behind VMs. This reading will make this much more clear.

K

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
14 Replies
kharbin
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

If you are using GSX as you say, then installing and configuing hard drives is completely a function of the underlying operating system, not VMware. GSX is an application that sits atop a already configuered OS and it assumes you have drive connectivity.