VMware Cloud Community
metahugh
Contributor
Contributor

Virtualcenter - Install or not?

Hello Everyone,

I am relatively new to the VM scene when it comes to Infrastructure 3. I have been looking into whether or not to install Virtualcenter as part of my client's deployment. This is going to be a single host configuration and only two VMs (to start). If I don't install Virtualcenter I know I won't be able to utilize high availability functions and Vmotion but is there anything else that I would miss? I am also assuming that I would install my license files directly onto the ESX server instead of using the license server that is installed with Virtualcenter. Is this correct?

Thanks!

Hugh

0 Kudos
8 Replies
BenConrad
Expert
Expert

If it's a single host you can use:

1) The Virtual Infrastructure Client (part of vcenter download) connected directly to the ESX host (rather than vCenter)

2) Yes, installing host based licenses would work fine

Ben

Draconis
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

You can always upgrade to a managed environment later on. Just be aware, when you do upgrade in the future, credentials created on the ESX server are different than credentials provided on the VC server. Also, you can install VC on a VM and then use DRS with HA to ensure 100% uptime to manage your ESX hosts. You can also install VC on a physical server. Joining the domain would be recommended for the VC server. I would install the license db on the same server as VC and install the SQL Server 2005 Express which is able to host 5 ESX hosts and 50 VMs. You will be host-based licensing so yes the license file will be locally found on that ESX server. Make sure you still back it up in case you experience corruptions on that file.

If you have found my answer helpful or correct, please consider awarding points.

If you have found my answer helpful or correct, please consider awarding points.
metahugh
Contributor
Contributor