VMware Cloud Community
renndabull
Contributor
Contributor

Physical Switch Config/VLANS

Greetings,

I'm somewhat new to VI3 and very new to SAN/ISCSI. More specifically, I need to understand how to physically configure 2 HP Procurve 2900 (24 port) switches for ISCSI traffic (Equallogic PS100E), VMotion, Service Console, Etc. I'm using (2) HP DL380 G5 servers with 3 dual gig ports (6).

\** Also, the (2) 2900 Procurves will need to connect to (2) additional Procurve switches (used for LAN/PC connectivity).

My Questions are:

1.) For reduncancy do I need to trunk the (2) HP 2900's together? Currently I have 1 port from each dual port nic (on the DL380's) connected to separate switches.

2.) For the 6 ISCSI connections coming from the Equallogic SAN, do I just create 1 VLAN for the 6 ISCSI SAN links (3 ports on each HP 2900) and assign the ports to that VLAN?

3.) For the VM traffic, Service Console, and VMotion do I just create a 2nd VLAN and assign those ports to the 2nd VLAN?

4.) Lastly, what would be the best way to connect the HP 2900 switches to the other 2 HP switches (LAN/PC's)?

Please let me know if this makes sense!

Thanks!

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Cloneranger
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi,

Yikes you are going to run the whole lot through 1 pair of switches, and that isnt a lot of ports on your servers there,

1and2. I think on equalogic kit you have 3 active and 3 redundant links,

so I think you would have ports 1 + 3 on the 1st controller going to the first switch with port 2 on the 1st controller going to the 2nd switch, and vice versa, ports 1 + 3 on 2nd controller going to the 2nd switch with port 2 going to the 1st switch, that should give you max redundancy, - you should vLan that off,

yes you should trunk the 2 switches together,

3. I would totaly separate vmotion traffic, (mine goes through its own switch) from everything else, - you should vLAn that off,

You can create vconsole and vmnetwork vSwitches, and connect one card to each pSwitch for failover,