VMware Cloud Community
geomean
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Newbie Question: What do I put in for "Hostname" in DNS Configuration during ESXi setup

Note: I'm not an IT professional but rather an enthusiast trying to test the power of virtualization technology. I understand IP addresses and know how to configure my home router, setup static IP address, and build my own computer but I have somewhat limited knowledge when it comes to configuring servers. All I want to do is use this ESXi server locally in my home to run multiple OSes on one physical box. I don't really want to have a server on the internet as I think Comcast doesn't let me run servers with the dynamic IP address package that I have. Anyway, here's my problem:

I've been following along with the ESXi setup video tutorial from the link in the intro e-mail vmware sends you after registering. I'm around the 14:30 minute mark now where we're configuring the management network in the DNS configuration menu.

The tutorial guy sets his host name to something that he has obviously setup but mine comes up as "localhost.hsd1.ca.comcast.net". I don't quite understand what I'm doing when I'm setting up a host name-- and like I said above, I don't want to be setting up a server on comcast's network.

I think I'm a bit confused and not sure what to put in for hostname. I tried "localhost" and also "localhost.hsd1.ca.comcast.net" but t hen when I selected "test management network" I got a fail message for hostname.

Sorry if this is a super newbie question but I don't want to proceed to set up virtual machines or whatever is next if this setting is wrong. I appreciate your time in reading this / helping me. Thanks.