VMware Cloud Community
Mactagish
Contributor
Contributor

How do I resize vmdk files?

Hi All,

I am looking for some advice on how I can resize vmdk files. Long story short, I'm pretty new to VMWare and one of my clients has an IBM DS 3400 SAN that has 2 LUNs, each approx 400Gb in size. One LUN only has about 5Gb of space left, and I need to reclaim some of that so vRanger backups will work, because vRanger won't work with less than 6Gb free space on a LUN. How can I shrink the vmdk files to achieve this? The VM's are production servers, so I can't rebuild them. As I understand it, vmdk files represent the hard disks in a VM. There is plenty of space in the OS hard disks, so I would like to make the vmdk files considerably smaller.

I noticed that, from within Virtual Centre, I have the options to copy/cut/paste files from within datastores - can I use this to my advantage? I haven't touched anything yet, because I am very wary about making changes when I can't backup the VMs beforehand because the LUN is full!!! :smileysilly:

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

James

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

since you posted in the ESX 3.0 forum, I will assume you are running 3.0.x. I would say the safest way to shrink your disks is probably going to be with VMware Converter.

If it's just a matter of moving VM's from datastore to datastore to free up space on your luns, you can do cold migrations to other luns, or if you happen to be running 3.5.0 ESX and 2.5 vCenter you can do live migrations with sVMotion.

azn2kew
Champion
Champion