VMware Cloud Community
lowbie
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

How do I give myself permissions.

Sorry everyone but I'm new to VMware so pardon my noobness. I have some ISOs I downloaded from e-open that I want to transfer to the datastore folder on my ESX 3.5 Server. (I'm running Infrastructure 3) I want to do this so I don't have to burn the images onto CDs and boot through physical media. I can't seem to figure out how to transfer the files. I have read many things about using WINSCP or VC 2.5 but nothing solid. Can someone provide insight or show me where I can find some documentation on how to do this? Thanks!

EDIT

So I managed to connect using WINSCP and I can browse all the files. I'm using the "admin" profile and I added it to the group root and admin. When I try to do anything on the server I get the error...

Permission denied.

Error code: 3

Error message from server: Permission denied

Request code: 14

How do I give myself access? Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Subatomic
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

yes VI Client - vmware infra client

In the Resources box in the Datastore section. Right clicking any datastore listed and selecting Browse will open the Datastore Browser

The Upload button is next to the Create New Folder button and looks like a stack of disks with the green up arrow on it.

If the comments were useful, please consider awarding points for helpful or correct. Thanks - SA -

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
gary1012
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Try using WinSCP and copy the file to a more friendly location such as /home/your user ID or /tmp. Then log into the service console, su or sudo over, and use mv to move the iso to your vmfs location. This might be easier than trying to manipulate file system permissions.

Community Supported, Community Rewarded - Please consider marking questions answered and awarding points to the correct post. It helps us all.
khughes
Virtuoso
Virtuoso