VMware Cloud Community
tegbakke
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

HP DL380 G5 - Configuring for ESX

Hello.

I am new to ESX, just completed VMware VI3: Install and Configure course

I am now going to install my first ESX server, and I have som questions that I hope that someone can answer for me.

Hardware:

HP DL380 G5 Dual QuadCore CPU, 16 GB Ram, 6 SAS disk on 146 GB

What will be best practise for configuring Array ?

Array A: Includes Disk 0 & 1 with RAID 0+1 - For ESX install

Array B: Includes all other disk with RAID 5 - For VM's, templates, ISO's and so on.

What is the best practise for installing and configuring partition schema for ESX

I guess it will be installed on Array A

I really hope that someone can clarify this for me, as I want to start out right.

Trond E. Gjelsvik-Bakke

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rfunk
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

You might want to go with something like this:

2 mirrored drives for the ESX install

3 drives raid 5 plus 1 hot spare for data

This will keep your OS and data separate which is a big benefit in a disaster recovery scenario.

This would give you 483 Gig for VM and your templates. You might want to put your ISO images on the ESX drives as well. You will have plenty of space to do so, just create a VMFS3 volume on the ESX drives. This will give you more space on the data drivers for VM and templates.

A DL380 G5 server with your configuration will handle a good number of Virtual Machines. You will probably run out of data storage before maxing out the CPU's and memory.

If the funds are available it would be a good idea to purchase 2 additional drives to add to the data array.

As far as carving up the ESX partition, Vmware recommends using the default settings during the installation.

In my environment I go with something like this:

/ = 4096

/boot = 150

/home = 3072

/swap = 2048

/vmimages = 6144

/vmkcore = 100

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

0 Kudos