Ritmo2k
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Default partition scheme

Jump to solution

When installing esx3 on a system with a very large disc, it creates a big vmfs partition. What is on that, and can it be shrunk to allow more room for /.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sbeaver
Leadership
Leadership

I have seen this same behavior and have a section in my post install script to handle this

setVMFS()

{

echo "Creating VMFS partition name to computer name" >> /root/PostInstall/PostInstall.log

#/usr/sbin/vmkfstools -C vmfs3 -S VMFS_LOCAL vmhba0:0:0:5

#/usr/sbin/vmkfstools -C vmfs3 vmhba0:0:0:5 -S $HOSTNAME-VMFS

export VMFS_PARTITION=`fdisk -l /dev/cciss/c0d0 | grep fb | sed -e "s/\/dev\/cciss\/c0d0p\(.\).*/\1/"`

#vmkfstools -C vmfs3 -S $HOSTNAME-VMFS vmhba0:0:0:$VMFS_PARTITION

vmkfstools -C vmfs3 -S $SRVCFG-VMFS vmhba0:0:0:$VMFS_PARTITION

echo "Local VMFS Volume has been renamed" >> /root/PostInstall/PostInstall.log

}

Steve Beaver
VMware Communities User Moderator
VMware vExpert 2009 - 2020
VMware NSX vExpert - 2019 - 2020
====
Co-Author of "VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center"
(ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach
Come check out my blog: [www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog|http://www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog/]
Come follow me on twitter http://www.twitter.com/sbeaver

**The Cloud is a journey, not a project.**

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
15 Replies
sbeaver
Leadership
Leadership

You can not shrink you would want to reinstall. If you create an auto install you can define partitions. Here is what I use

  1. Clear Partitions

clearpart --all --initlabel --drives=cciss/c0d0

part /boot --fstype ext3 --size 256 --asprimary --ondisk cciss/c0d0

part / --fstype ext3 --size 8192 --asprimary --ondisk cciss/c0d0

part swap --size 1600 --asprimary --ondisk cciss/c0d0

part /opt --fstype ext3 --size 2048 --ondisk cciss/c0d0

part /tmp --fstype ext3 --size 2048 --ondisk cciss/c0d0

part /var --fstype ext3 --size 2048 --ondisk cciss/c0d0

part None --fstype vmfs3 --size 10240 --grow --ondisk cciss/c0d0

part None --fstype vmkcore --size 100 --ondisk cciss/c0d0

Steve Beaver

VMTN Forum Moderator

*Virtualization is a journey, not a project.*

Steve Beaver
VMware Communities User Moderator
VMware vExpert 2009 - 2020
VMware NSX vExpert - 2019 - 2020
====
Co-Author of "VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center"
(ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach
Come check out my blog: [www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog|http://www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog/]
Come follow me on twitter http://www.twitter.com/sbeaver

**The Cloud is a journey, not a project.**
Ritmo2k
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

So what is the vmfs3 partition used for on the install disc? Since you can not use it for vm's (Not that I would in production) for my single disc system that isnt using iscsi atm, I was hoping to do a quick test right now with a small vm for a couple hours...

0 Kudos
BryanMcC
Expert
Expert

The vmfs3 volume is just created after the default partitions are created for local storage... Its just something for you to use if you wish.. I always increase the swap when doing the install due to all of this free space that is taken up using the vmfs3 local storage and the fact that I usually install some kind of management interface from the hardware vendor on the service console such as Dells Serverv Manager..

The default local storage is usually called something like storage1 after the install is complete and by all means can be used to store VMs.. The downside is that VMs staored on local storage cannot be VMotioned or accessed by other ESX servers in the farm.

Help me help you by scoring points... Smiley Happy

Help me help you by scoring points.
Ritmo2k
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thanks for the info. So what's the rule of thumb on swap? Also, how do you access this vmfs then? It doesn't show up in the vi client? Obviously there must be a way to add it to the list of available stores as none of my esx 301/302 installs show it!

Thanks!

0 Kudos
BryanMcC
Expert
Expert

The rule of thumb on swap is double the amount of memory.. The Service Console consumes 272MB by default.. I always increase the RAM for the Service Console due to the fact that I am installing additional software on it.. The Service Console has a hard limit of 800MB.. I have never increased it this far but the docs from Dell state to double it if you are going to install Server Manager.. And so during the install I just increase the swap to 1024 and make the adjustments to the Service Console from VC before installing Server Manager. Although I have seen this done without the increase with no impact.

And the deafult store should be labeled as storage1 on the install and you can view it from the summary tab when you highlight a host.. The issues with this are as follows..

1. The name of this store will change on new hosts when they are added to storage1(x) because even though it cannot be shared between hosts it has to have a unique name in VC.

2. You cannot use this VMFS volume for Vmotion as it is local storage and not viewable by all hosts.

3. None of your other hosts can see it (I cant stres this enough.. It takes many features away from virtualization when you use this volume)

Thats about it.. If you do not see the local store after install (I have never had this problem.. Its always the only store available before I zone my LUNs and scan) it should be off of vmhba0:0 when you go to the storage link in Configuration of the host.

Help me help you by scoring points... Smiley Happy

Help me help you by scoring points.
0 Kudos
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

A single swap partition should not exceed 2GBs. ANything above 2GBs is not used by the system. Granted you can make multiple swap partitions if you desire.

I would create the following:

/boot 100MB

/ 4G (over indulgence, really only need 2GB but this is a nice safety net)

/var 4G (core files stored here)

/home 4G (not really necessary but useful nonetheless)

/tmp 4G (You will need this space to do upgrades

/var/log 4G (log files stored here)

swap 2G

/vmimages 10G (local iso storage, always nice to have)

vmkcore 100MB (automatically created)

vmfs3 the rest of the space (automatically created)

Note that the /home, /var, /tmp are new partitions

Note that /, /var/log, /vmimages have changed sizes.

Best regards,

Edward L. Haletky, author of the forthcoming 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', publishing January 2008, (c) 2008 Pearson Education. Available on Rough Cuts at http://safari.informit.com/9780132302074

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XII: 2009-2020,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill
0 Kudos
Ritmo2k
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

How do you change the size of /vmimages if its a dir under /?

Also, do you know how to mount the vmfs under 302 that resides on the install disc so you can use it?

Thanks for your help!

0 Kudos
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

During the install you can create a /vmimages, actually I always thought it was created for you as part of the default partition layout. Always go with the default and modify from there.

The VMFS is automatically available when you boot under ESX. It has a label of "storage1" when you look at /vmfs/volumes or use the VIC. If you are not seeing your local VMFS then there is a partition problem.

Best regards,

Edward L. Haletky, author of the forthcoming 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', publishing January 2008, (c) 2008 Pearson Education. Available on Rough Cuts at http://safari.informit.com/9780132302074

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XII: 2009-2020,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill
0 Kudos
Ritmo2k
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I will make a note to adjust the vmimages size from now on!

As far as the vmfs never shwoing up in the vi client, I have done several installs and non have ever shown it? I dont see a link in the /vmfs on any of the systems I have?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
BryanMcC
Expert
Expert

After the install you would have to use something like Acronis to extend the partitions. And the VMFS you are referring to I assume you mean the local storage VMFS.. It can be added if you do not have it by using storage under the configuration tab in VC. It should be something like vmhba:0:0:0. But be careful when you are adding it as you will be prompted to mount the entire partition or the free space. Make sure you choose free space.

Help me help you by scoring points.
0 Kudos
sbeaver
Leadership
Leadership

I have seen this same behavior and have a section in my post install script to handle this

setVMFS()

{

echo "Creating VMFS partition name to computer name" >> /root/PostInstall/PostInstall.log

#/usr/sbin/vmkfstools -C vmfs3 -S VMFS_LOCAL vmhba0:0:0:5

#/usr/sbin/vmkfstools -C vmfs3 vmhba0:0:0:5 -S $HOSTNAME-VMFS

export VMFS_PARTITION=`fdisk -l /dev/cciss/c0d0 | grep fb | sed -e "s/\/dev\/cciss\/c0d0p\(.\).*/\1/"`

#vmkfstools -C vmfs3 -S $HOSTNAME-VMFS vmhba0:0:0:$VMFS_PARTITION

vmkfstools -C vmfs3 -S $SRVCFG-VMFS vmhba0:0:0:$VMFS_PARTITION

echo "Local VMFS Volume has been renamed" >> /root/PostInstall/PostInstall.log

}

Steve Beaver
VMware Communities User Moderator
VMware vExpert 2009 - 2020
VMware NSX vExpert - 2019 - 2020
====
Co-Author of "VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center"
(ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach
Come check out my blog: [www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog|http://www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog/]
Come follow me on twitter http://www.twitter.com/sbeaver

**The Cloud is a journey, not a project.**

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Ritmo2k
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Sweet!

Thanks guys!

0 Kudos
mmmather
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Steve -

Do you have anything in your POST at all or is it done mainly in a post build script that is separate?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
sbeaver
Leadership
Leadership

As far as partitions go every thing is defined in the ks,cfg and one thing is run in the post to add the vmfs partition as shown above

Steve Beaver

VMTN Forum Moderator

*Virtualization is a journey, not a project.*

Steve Beaver
VMware Communities User Moderator
VMware vExpert 2009 - 2020
VMware NSX vExpert - 2019 - 2020
====
Co-Author of "VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center"
(ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach
Come check out my blog: [www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog|http://www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog/]
Come follow me on twitter http://www.twitter.com/sbeaver

**The Cloud is a journey, not a project.**
0 Kudos
sbeaver
Leadership
Leadership

BTW I am not sure which version off the top of my head by the problem if the vmfs paritiion not being created durning the build as been fixed and should default to making one called storage1

Steve Beaver

VMTN Forum Moderator

*Virtualization is a journey, not a project.*

Steve Beaver
VMware Communities User Moderator
VMware vExpert 2009 - 2020
VMware NSX vExpert - 2019 - 2020
====
Co-Author of "VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center"
(ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach
Come check out my blog: [www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog|http://www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog/]
Come follow me on twitter http://www.twitter.com/sbeaver

**The Cloud is a journey, not a project.**
0 Kudos