VMware Cloud Community
toofaan
Contributor
Contributor

Console not accesible for guest VMs

I just moved into this company and they do not use VMs too much, but they have a infrstructure of 2 ESX servers connected to a MSA 1000.

I am very new to VM - ESX.

Here is what is happening.

I connected to one of the ESX servers (ServerA) via the VI client.

I expanded the main ESX server and it has 9 VM Servers under it.

I Clicked on each server (on the left) and then the Console Tab (on the right), but the console comes as black screen.

I tried going to Inventory, Virtual Machine Menu option (All the way up in the menu and doing a CtrlAltDel, but it is doing nothing)

Funny thing is that I can RDP into that virtual guest servers from another server.

I was also able to logon without any issues.

But, I just cannot open any of these guest VM servers on this ESX Server via the Console tab.

Not sure what is happening? I thought maybe I need to press Keyboard or mouse to acitvate the logon screen, but the console screen stays black.

If it helps, on clicking the Events tab for this ESX server, I see some reconfigured <server> and registered <server> events but the

last event time shows as 8/29/2010. All events before that are at 7/5/2010 or 6/1/2010, so is that something that can be fixed from the service console?

Is there a way to also find out if someone else is also using the console? Or who else is accessing or making changes?

Also, On the second ESX Server - I have 3 VM guest servers, and I can access them via the console. No issues.

But, on that server, when I click on Events, and drop down the Show host entries, it says : Error: "A general system error occured" It has a OK box.

There are no events logged for that server.

So, I am not sure what is going on..

Another quick question: How do I see both the cluster servers via one console?

I guess is there a way of finding the primary VirtualCenter Server console?

thank you,

0 Kudos
17 Replies
Chamon