VMware Cloud Community
bsdixon
Contributor
Contributor

CLARiiON SAN + ESX3

Hello All,

I am quite new to this SAN stuff, but have had some experience with ESX. I am currently using a CLARiiON CX3-40 Storage System and Navisphere to manage both my SP. To give you a better idea my rack looks like this. One Dell 2970 on top, two Dell 2950s both running ESX3 below that, each have two Qlogic HBAs. Fiber from the HBAs run to the storage processors. I am not sure how to approach this. What I need to do is have it so that the 2950 ESX servers store all their information on the SAN. I have read a few papers on this, but most have just been the theory of what each is and not necessarily practical use. I know I need to creat LUNs on the storage system and mount them on the ESX servers, but I am not sure how LUNs are looked at by ESX. I am also unsure as to how to find out if I am doing everything right. If anyone could has any documentation that assisted them or comments, it would greatly be appreciated.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
tklose
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,

I have a clarion CX300...with Brocade Fiber channel/switches, this might be similar.

A If the ESX servers have not been connected to the SAN, you will need to ZONE them in your Fiber switches fabric.

In basic terms, each server that needs access to the SAN must be identified, and zoned in the fiber switches first. Depending if you have multiple paths, and/or multiple fiber links...you can have several zone setups in the switch. Before starting...check to see if your server is visiable from the fiber switch ....use the Name server tab to see the servers WWN numbers....

1 First create an alias with the WWN of the host

2 Create the ZONE and add the host and the SAN's alias to this new zone.

3 Add the new zone group to the fabic Config members list. SAVE and ENABLE the config