VMware Edu & Cert Community
ocporbust
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

newbie in southern cali

Hi,

I am a newbie and looking to learn VMware. I got some CBTs but still need a jump start . I looked for usergrp in san diego but it seems like it is dead.. does anyone from Southern cali know of an active grp the can help jump start my learning.. I am almost done w/ my ccnp and would like to test the water of virtualization ..

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AnthonyChow
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

ocporbust wrote:

- if I wape out the linux from the machine that I have . can I install ESXi on it

- Do I need to install the client on top of the ESXi to have virtual machines ?

- one more think to ask.. I do not have a cd/dvd drive in my new machine ..what is the easy way to have ESXi loaded

Thanks for all your help

Normally, you will install ESXi as the OS and wape out the linux from the machine but to set up a home lab you will have to have VMware Workstation to run as an application on Linux.  (I have Workstation in Windows 7 running on my Dell T110).

In side Workstation, run the ESXi as the virtual machine and then load in guest OS to run on the ESXi.  Virtual machine inside a virtual machine.

I think normally if you don't have a DVD drive you can boot ESXi from the SAN but now it is a home lab that you are talking about.

I think in YouTube there are instruction on how to install ESXi on VMware Workstation.

This might give you some information: http://www.vmware.com/products/workstation/

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution