VMware Edu & Cert Community
LMBalla
Contributor
Contributor

Which test to take 510 or 550

I currently have the VCP4 certification. I am studying for the VCP5-DCV. I a wondering whether to take the 510 test or the 550 test. If I try the 550 test and fail, would I still be able to try the 510 test?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

You may find one easier to prepare for than the other - depending on which version you have worked with, along with the features tested on in the exams.

VCP510 is based on vSphere 5.0/5.1, while VCP550 is based on vSphere 5.5.

Review the 2 exam blueprints for both to help make your decision, there are links to both here: VCP5-DCV Exams

I'm not aware of any restrictions on someone taking one and then the other if they failed the first one.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
NealeC
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Afternoon Scott,

Slightly hijacking here, although it is on-topic 🙂
I got a voucher from my employer last year for VCAP-DCA510 and then due to a project commitment had to push it out until January.

I'm mostly released from that project now but the real "hard-stop" as they say was the announcement of it's retirement and there being no sessions to reschedule to! (2 weeks to cram!)

So I'm booked in on Thursday in Leeds and am cramming on my homelab now for all I'm worth (and I took advantage of Josh Andrews kind loan of Test Track)

My question are

1. What is the standard process if there is any issue with the lab?
    Is it better to log it and carry on as quickly as possible as I don't want to be talking to GK support whilst the clock is ticking for it then not to be considered when it comes to scoring?