VMware Edu & Cert Community
ChrisFD2
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

What's the cheapest official training I can do for VCP6.5?

Hi all,

I've been working on VMware for around 10 years now, way back on 2.5 at the start.

While online training or attending a course would provide some benefit, a lot of it is going to be stuff that I've been doing in various capacities in my career.

Does anyone know what the cheapest VCP6.5-DCV qualifying training course is, preferably one that starts 8/9 AM UK time and is online?

For some reason I thought passing the VCP6.5-DCV exam would be enough but after passing it yesterday and actually reading the requirements, I was wrong! I don't think I'll have much difficulty doing the foundations exam, however due to being self-employed I find it difficult to part with £5k or so just to achieve official certification. If I'm spending that sort of money I'd rather do a VCAP level course where I feel I'd learn a lot more.

Had I have known yesterday I would have probably sat the remaining two MCSA exams for 2012 and then upgraded it to 2016.

Thanks.

Regards,
Chris
VCIX-DCV 2023 | VCIX-NV 2023 | vExpert *** | CCNA R&S
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Cheapest for the time being, when you're paying for your own training, is probably a VMware IT Academy (VITA) - although they can only offer VCP-qualifying training til the end of July.

I don't know of any UK-based VITA that offers the training online, nor any overseas VITAs that offer online training at UK-friendly times.

If you're flexible on timings, look at Stanly​ in the US. If you can do weekends in London I know some people who have trained with 360 GSP.

If the above VITA options aren't going to work, you should look at VMware Authorised Training Center (VATC) companies as Global Knowledge and QA.

Or, VMware's direct "live online" or "on demand" training.