VMware Edu & Cert Community
vintagedon
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

VMWare Lab Plans (Vet my Setup)

Am planning to do a lab for both production stuff at my home, and a lab to practice towards my certification, and would just like someone to vet this setup, and give any suggestions they may have towards improving it.  90% of it's already in and setup, the rest is in transit, with the only thing not purchased yet being the 2nd gigabit switch.

Note that I am a systems administrator for a enterprise class hosting company, am quite familiar with Linux and Windows (definitely more of a Linux slant), and have used VMWare Workstation for personal stuff, but am otherwise new to that corner of the industry.  If anyone has any good, solid suggestions for VCenter5 books, I'd appreciate that also.

My house is also properly networked (Cat6 drops in every room w/HTPCs, desktops, and other sundry items like network BluRay players), I have a large, very cool temperature basement with under the stairs built out into an enclosed space for all the gear (a central storage server/domain controller plus three HTPCs live here, all the network drops here for the house, and an air conditioning duct outlet), as well as a self-built 24U four-post server rack, and 2 dedicated 20A drops for power there.

For iSCSI, I'm using the free version of Starwind for iSCSI targets, which also allows 128GB of HA storage.  So, presenting a primary iSCSI target off my existing domain controller for the house, and also two HA nodes, running on SSDs: one in the domain controller, and one on the primary HTPC for the house.

ESXI Node 1 and 2 (identical)
=============================
Dell PowerEdge 2950 III, w/4 Gigabit NICs each (2 onboard + 1 dual Intel Pro/1000), diskless (USB boot), and 16GB of RAM each

ESXI Node 3
===========
Whitebox, KGPE-D16 w/dual 6128s, 64GB of RAM, 4 GB NICs (2 onboard + 1 dual Intel Pro/1000), diskless
ESXi Host Total: 32 cores, 96GB of RAM, 12 GB NICs

iSCSI Node 1
============