VMware Edu & Cert Community
vite1
Contributor
Contributor

VCP4 Exam study methods

I recently took a VMware vSphere Troubleshooting course and now I'm able to take my VCP4 EXAM.  I've been all over the map for studying and would like to get some study tips.

I've been a VMware Sys Admin and Engineer for about 7 years now and used the product a lot.

I have a hard time with Rote memorization which seems like a large part of this exam anyway!

Here is what I've done so far:

I Studied the Configuration Maximums.

Downloaded the latest VMware BluePrint Guide along with all of the documentation; I tend to over-read into everything and I don't read all that fast.  A lot of documents to cover and I'm just beginning.

I noticed a lot of the documentation tend to overlap and it gets a bit redundant (which I guess is good, practice-and-repeat).

I've setup nested Labs and regular labs.  I've built systems from the ground up over the years so I have the hands on knowledge.

I heard about Mastering VMware/vSphere Book as well.

I found some practice tests and Visual CertExam manager to practice with along with VMware's practice Exam.  Is this I good idea to keep going over? Or is it a waste of time?

I was wondering if there is an updated site/blog like this one that has updated information on VCP4 Exam.  This site has great notes that were added to VMware's BluePrint Objectives:

http://blog.b3rg.nl/vmware-certified-professional-on-vsphere-4-learning-guide/

by MathisjsBerg.  I found this to be a great reference as he really highlights the important topics with his added notes; he moved on and doesn't have an updated one.?