VMware Edu & Cert Community
sforehand
Contributor
Contributor

VCP-DTM Resources? Roadmap?

Good Day Everyone.

I recently completed the "VMware Horizon 8 Install, Manage, Configure with App Volumes Fast Track" course.  Id like to pursue the VCP-DTM certification, but am having trouble finding resources to study for the exams.  I understand there are 2 exams that I have to pass, one for "vSphere Foundations" and another for "VMware Professional Horizon X".

1) It seems like on certification / testing 2V0-51.19, everything I look at for testing has X as 7.7, but the course was on 8.  Does this make a difference?  Will there be a test on 8 released anytime in the future?  If testing on 8 will be released sometime soon, wouldn't it make sense for me to wait until they are released before taking the exams so they don't "time out" as soon?  I understand 7 and 8 are pretty close, but if Im spending 100s on exams and study materials it would be nice to be sure I am studying the correct materials and get the most up to date testing.

2) What resources are available for vSphere foundations 2V0-01.19?  I have been working in vSphere as an administrator for the past 6.5 years, but all of the test examples I have seen on the internet appear to be way over my head.  Also, some places mention this as an "open book" unproctored exam, is that true?  I do understand VMware wanting their certified professionals to know vSphere, it would be nice to have more resources available for someone like myself who is by no means an expert and only has experience as an administrator.  A nice Sybex would be great, but so far I have not been able to find anything current.