VMware Edu & Cert Community
M0hiz
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VCP Certification

I want to start my Vmware certification journey. I am not new as I have college degree from a College and I have been working with VMware products for over 5 years. I would like to ask if it is possible to pay for the exam voucher for VCP Datacenter and do the exam, or do I have to attend a compulsory training? Kindly assist 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Ask the college.

If their training was authorised they will issue you with a special voucher on completion which allows you to take what is known as the PSE version of a VCP exam.

This is a process unique to VMware IT Academy institutions and their students.

Don't buy a voucher yet.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
TimVCI
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

See here for the VCP-DCV mandatory training requirements…

https://www.vmware.com/learning/certification/vcp-dcv.html

0 Kudos
M0hiz
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Thank you for the link but I couldn't figure out what I need to do. I don't want to take the VCTA (as it would be a waste of time) or would taking it make my getting VCP easier? 

I really don't have the means to go to training and want to get the cert, that's why I am looking for answers on any alternatives.

0 Kudos
TimVCI
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

If you do.not hold a current VCP certification then training is mandatory for the VCP-DCV cert. 

0 Kudos
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

You'll need to complete authorised training to achieve VCP-DCV.