VMware Edu & Cert Community
egandolfi0611
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Studying for VCP 4 - Need Help

Hi all,

I am studying for the VCP 4 exam which I have scheduled for mid February. I have the v5.o update class under my belt but need to completee the VCP 4 exam before I take the 5 exam otherwise that class is worthless to me.

I am studing the Configuration Maximums. I made flash cards for every maximum in the document. As I was going through I was confused by something. Under the Virtual Machine Maximums it lists Virtual CPUs per VM as 8. Then Under ESX Host Maximums in the COMPUTE section it lists Virtual CPUs per VM as 1. Why is this? I just want to be sure I am clear. Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards,

Eddie

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

egandolfi0611 wrote:

I did see that. So If a VM is FT enabled it can only have 1 vCPU??

correct

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
26 Replies
AndreTheGiant
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Max vCPU is 8 (but only in Enterprise+).

About the 1 doubt, I think that it mean that just 1 vCPU is like a CPU (or socket)... in vSphere it can be also like a core.

Andrew | http://about.me/amauro | http://vinfrastructure.it/ | @Andrea_Mauro
0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

The 1 vCPU maximum that's listed in the host compute refers to "Fault Tolerance" enabled VM's (see two lines above this setting).

André

egandolfi0611
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

0 Kudos
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

egandolfi0611 wrote:

correct

0 Kudos
FM-DK
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hi

Taking VCP4 instead of VCP5 is worthless effort IMHO

I took VCP5 today and allmost all questions are in VCP4 stuff. You will pass without any problem even if you do not answer a single question in vSphere5 stuff.

So if you take VCP4 and then VCP5 you will feel, that you have taken the same test twice.

Regards

André

0 Kudos