VMware Edu & Cert Community

Observation VCP Blue Print

I came up through IT in networking and OSI 7 layers.  In addition, my degree is in computer science so I think logically (try anyhow).  As I am now going back through the VCP blue print as well as the two very well known books I find it odd that the blue print is not in logical order.  For example, Section 1 - Plan, Install, Configure and Upgrade vCenter Server and VMware ESXI starts off with vCenter Server editions and then goes into deploying vCenter Appliance.  As we all know, in order to deploy VCA you have to install ESXi and vSphere client first then deploy VCA.  I find this interesting and wonder what the thought process was when the vSphere 5.0 Blue Print was updated why they did not put this in order. 

1 Reply
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

I see what you mean, but the order of the objectives is not important when it comes to the exam structure itself, which after all is the primary purpose of the blueprint - questions on the blueprint objectives can be asked in any order during the exam.

The blueprint has to start and end somewhere in terms of the order of the objectives, to add to your point above you'd also have to setup ESXi networking and datastores before deploying VCA, yet in the blueprint networking and storage are later sections of the blueprint.


Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog