VMware Edu & Cert Community
UrbanFox
Contributor
Contributor

New to VMWare

Hi,

I am fairly new to VMWare.  I have used a Workstation version in the past (I played about with it and had it running Linux).  I also work for a company with multiple VMWare ESX boxes (3.5 and 5.x).

Up to now I havent had too much exposure to it as I have been on another project, but this should soon be changing.

I have used the VCS and I am familiar with the DRS and V-Motion concept.

I am wanting to set up a home lab so that I can get more up to speed with it, in preparation for attending a VMware vSphere: Install, Configure, Manage [V5.1] course with an authorised provider and then eventually sit the exam once I feel confident that I meet the requirements of the blue print.

I am not expecting this to be an over night thing! 

What I guess I am looking for is pointers on where to get going.  I know that I need to get a suitable computer at home for a Lab (my current PC pre-dates the Intel i Series CPU's!) and I am aware that I need something that supports HT, VT-x and 4 cores, as well as 16gb RAM, large hard disk and if possible an SSD.

I would then install Windows 7 64 bit onto the PC, and then use VMWare Workstation to install an ESX set up.  Does this sound correct?

I have access through my work to CBT Nuggets as well, which I know arent enough, but should at least aid my learning.  I believe I may also have access to a test rig at my place of work as well.

So, I guess the place to start is a home lab set up?  Should someone with the small exposure that I have had be even considering this course?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
aravinds3107
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

You are in right track to set up the home lab. Check out this blog Building the Ultimate vSphere Lab – Part 1: The Story | Boerlowie's Blog

Also vmware has some online free training videos which you can watch while building up the lab and studying  VMware Learning