VMware Edu & Cert Community
rsmclane
Contributor
Contributor

Networking questions

Hello,

I'm studying for the VCP 4 (hope to knock it out and hit the VCP 5 quickly) and I've been using the VCP4 Exam Cram book for some review.  I've run across a couple of networking questions that I think it has wrong but I can't find Errata for the book.  I haven't taken the exam yet and am working from the book quizes, not a practice exam so hopefully this doesn't qualify as "asking about exam questions".

First question:  How many different connection types does a virtual switch have?  The book says 3, but I remember in my VI3:ICM class, the instructor saying 4.  I guess the crux of the confusion is whether the uplink/vmnic counts as a connection type but which is the correct answer for testing purposes?

Second question:  True or false; Virtual switches can forward packets to multiple ports.  The book says False, but both multi-cast and enabling Promiscuous Mode would have the Virtual switch forwarding packets to multiple ports correct?

0 Kudos
10 Replies
AnthonyChow
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

rsmclane wrote:

Hello,

First question:  How many different connection types does a virtual switch have? 

May be the book is referring to Virtual Switch Tagging (VST) External Switch Tagging (EST) and Virtual Guest Tagging (VGT)?

I would like to know also.

0 Kudos
rsmclane
Contributor
Contributor

May be the book is referring to Virtual Switch Tagging (VST) External Switch Tagging (EST) and Virtual Guest Tagging (VGT)?

I would like to know also.

Well the 3 he lists are VMkernel, Service Console, and virtual machine.

0 Kudos
AnthonyChow
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

I see.

In 4.1 there is no Service Console so there is only VMkernel and Virtual Machine.

Page 10 (Figure 5) of this document: http://www.vmware.com/files/pdf/virtual_networking_concepts.pdf

has a picture of all 3 "connection" types