VMware Edu & Cert Community
vm_symm
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Is Windows/Linux System and Network Admin knowledge essential for VMware Admin?

Hi,

I am planning to do VCP.

Kindly let me know if I should know how to set up routers/Windows or Linux Networks as well apart from learning VMware Vsphere stuff?

I currently work as a Storage Admin(mainly EMC SAN), but I have very limited OS related knowledge when it comes to the networking part. I have never set up a Domain Controller, or set up a router or set up anything on a network.

Kindly request someone to please let me know what all should I study before I attempt to set up a lab at home to study for VCP?

Or, frankly speaking, would it be better for me to not to pursue VCP as of now? Because whats the use of becoming a VCP but not being able to set up networks etc?

Please let me know.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

I believe that the best vSphere admins/engineers are those that have a good appreciation/understanding of networking, storage, servers, OSes, and applications - all the techologies that sit above and below where virtualisation sits in a modern datacentre.

I was the opposite of you in terms of skills/background when I first learned about vSphere, and I'd only done small bits of networking - but I made sure I raised my own bar in that area and learned a good amount about storage as part of my development.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution