VMware Edu & Cert Community
danorama
Contributor
Contributor

Finally passed VCP5-DCV - 2nd attempt

I underestimated this exam on my first attempt and was shocked as to how challenging it was. I studied for a few more months and passed today.

A few questions:

1) How long does it take for VMware to contact me with my VCP5-DCV credentials?

2) I'm worried that the Certification of Completion that we get after completing the course has "Dan" listed, but I took the exam as "Daniel" which is on my license. Will this be an issue?

3) It's time for a change. I've been a Windows Sys Admin for most of my IT career, but I've really grown fascinated with VMware's virtualization technology.

I'm seeking advice as to which direction in the VMware world I should take in regards to a career change. There seem to be multiple options as far as certs are concerned.

(Cloud vs Data Center vs End User Computing) Which path is in most demand?

Your input would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

First off congratualtoins!

1) As I recall you should get an email within 7-10 business days -

2) It will not make a difference

3) All are in demand - be prepared you will find the majority of open positions within professional services organizations - with your background I think the easiest transition will be into Data Center I think the greatest growth will be in Cloud COmputing -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Well done!

VMware's Cloud and EUC offerings both build on top of vSphere, so DCV on it's own will have strong demand. I'd agree with the reply above this, that the greatest growth will be in cloud.