VMware Edu & Cert Community
DougParker
Contributor
Contributor

Failed the VCP today

Took my first crack at the VCP today and failed. For the last three weeks I've been studying 3 hours a night. Used the vmware PDF's, TrainSignal vids, Vcp exam workshop and a cool android app from upward mobility (really good). I got pretty good scores on the mock exam and on the slog exam so i was pretty confident going into it. I've been using vSphere for the past 2 years and thought I was ready for the test. Time was an issue for me.  I finished with 1 minute remaining. I rushed through the last 15-20 questions. I didn't realize until the end you could skip questions and come back to them. Not sure if that would of helped, but maybe.. I'm pretty disappointed but I'm going to double my efforts. Figured I would go through the vSphere manuals from the class again lesson by lesson.  My next test is on the 28th and I plan on taking a more methodical approach using the blueprint.

0 Kudos
15 Replies
vmroyale
Immortal
Immortal

Hello and welcome to the forums.

Bummer, but it sounds like you learned a lot of things that will definitely help you on the 28th.  If there are specific things you know you didn't do well on, definitely focus on those areas for next time too.

Good Luck!

Brian Atkinson | vExpert | VMTN Moderator | Author of "VCP5-DCV VMware Certified Professional-Data Center Virtualization on vSphere 5.5 Study Guide: VCP-550" | @vmroyale | http://vmroyale.com
0 Kudos
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

If it helps, you aren't the first to sit the exam and not have a passing score, and you won't be the last.  Take the good from the exam experience.  You are now familiar with what to expect while sitting the exam.  Take the print out supplied and practice your not so strong points and you'll be ready on the 28th

You may also, if you have not seen, take a look at the below blog

http://vmwaretraining.blogspot.com