VMware Edu & Cert Community
Cbaur88
Contributor
Contributor

Becoming a VCP

Hi folks I am a bit of a noob with VMWare, although I do have some experience in working with ESXi for our DR site. I've been pretty stagnent with certifications for the past few years and wanted to enhnace and better myself for that better job were always looking for and is out there waiting for us and our families.

Wanted to get some clarity on the requirments for becoming a VCP. Obviously you need to pass the test, however I am also reading you need to take a qualifying VMware authorized course? Is this true? I simply cannot take the test and pass and become a VCP? The costs with taking a qualifying VMware authorized course are staggering:smileyshocked:. Are there no other alternative to this then to spending thousands of dollars to become VMWare certified:smileycry:? Thanks in advance for your time and help.

Sincerely,

Chuck Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
12 Replies
MindTheGreg
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Yes you need to take a class.

This tells you the basic roadmap and what classes are accepted:

http://mylearn.vmware.com/mgrReg/plan.cfm?plan=12457&ui=www

Make sure you take the class from an authorized source otherwise it does not count.

Set-Annotation -CustomAttribute "The Impossible" -Value "Done and that makes us mighty"
0 Kudos
Cbaur88
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks Greg, now I know why VCP's are in such high demand. Take care!

0 Kudos
MindTheGreg
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I wrote a blog post a while back about the crazy cost: http://gregcarriger.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/save-money-on-the-vcp-class/

In short you can:

1. Get a VMUG advantage subscription for a 20% discount

2. Get a 30% hotseat discount by checking the VMware Education Services Special Offers page.

3. There is a promo currently going on that you receive a 50% off voucher when you sign up for a class, so if you know someone taking a class you can use their code.