VMware Edu & Cert Community
yak9
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

VCAP5-DCD Experience

Hello,

Last week i passed my VDCD550 exam and got VCAP5-DCD certification, so i guess i have some experience to share.

Last few years i worked at PM/management positions at various integrators but recently decided to go more technical again. So i updated my VCP4 to VCP5 in february and was ready to study for VCAP exams. I decided to go with VCAP-DCD, as, to be honest, i didn't have much hand-on implementation/administration expirience last few years. On other hand, i have pre-saled and designed some environments, so choose design path was obvious decision.

My studing materials were:

It was obviously overkill, as you don't need so much data to pass exam (and to be honest, deep technical knowledge isn't needed to pass it), but as i plan to pursue this field of work futher (and may be even continue to VCDX certification), more knowledge won't hurt.

When studying it's better to pay close attention to definitions of requirements, assumptions, constraints, risks and differences between them. Sometimes they are close to each other and phrasing matters very much. Good thing to do is review design you have previously completed at work and write down requirements, assumptions, constraints and risks.

Another point to pay attention to is how exactly are example designs in VMware documentation drawn, something like that will be expected from you. For example, during my exam there was one design 'visio like' question about storage. I've drawn all the objects and almost all connections and then was stuck with ALUA optimized/unoptimized paths. I mean i knew how it would work in real life but i just couldn't figure out how design tool was expecting me to draw it. Design tool kept on giving me error message that i cannot use this connector this way.