VMware Edu & Cert Community
caledunn
Contributor
Contributor

I failed yesterday.

I figure we don't hear enough about the ones that failed so I'm going to be man enough to admit I failed with a 271.  I've already passed the vcap-dca5 exam and I've been doing virtualization for a while now. I studied for a month using the same material that has been mentioned on this forum.

These are the resources I used:

The Forbes Guthrie vmware vsphere design book.

Scott Lowe's Mastering Vmware vsphere 5

Scott Lowe's Triansignal Designing vmware infrastructure

Duncan and Frank's vsphere 5 clustering technical deepdive

Sean Crookchston and Harley Stranger's managing and optimizing vmware vsphere deployments

all the website study guides

The Brownbag podcasts

Business continuity and disater Recovery Design

All documents referenced in the blueprint plus all vsphere documentation.

I hate to admit this but I studied that material multiple times and still came up short. My confidence is a bit shaken now. The time was the biggest issue for me and halfway into the test i had to start rushing and I finished the last question with a couple seconds.  The one area that I'm most frustrated with is that I don't know if I was executing the visio like interface correctly.  I just wasn't sure if I was linking things or putting things together in the way they wanted so the program would score it correctly.  I'm not sure I would do any better if I took it again.  Don't get me wrong i'm going to take it again but its back to the drawing board.

0 Kudos
13 Replies
depping
Leadership
Leadership

To be honest, this exam is probably one of the most difficult exams I have done. Reason for it being is that the visio tool is clunky and the questions are often too long. I would suggest to anyone to have a good understanding of design decisions, justifications, constraints, risks... those are the questions you can easily score with.

0 Kudos
Techstarts
Expert
Expert