VMware Horizon Community
VirtuAlex_Z
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Virtual paths in a ThinApp project

Hi all,

i'm a ThinApp beginner. Up to now, i've created a few test "ThinApps" and i can say i will love it! It's very simple and flexible..

But i have a some questions to you pros:

How can i figure out what are the target physical paths of the virtual paths at my system where i start the virtualized application?

If i start a command prompt in the virtual environment/context (-> entry point) could i resolve these virtual paths, e.g. %SystemSystem%?

Could i create/add custom virtual paths at the project folder before i build the virtual application?

Thanks in advance

Alex

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Cievo
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

pbjork just answered it right like always Smiley Happy

***Good question is half of the answer...***

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Cievo
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

Yes, ThinApp is great Smiley Happy

How can i figure out what are the target physical paths of the virtual paths at my system where i start the virtualized application?

If you check documentation you can find a list of those Macro Names. Page 112 of http://www.vmware.com/pdf/thinapp461_manual.pdf.

If i start a command prompt in the virtual environment/context (-> entry point) could i resolve these virtual paths, e.g. %SystemSystem%?

Nope, those Macro Names are resolvable in ThinApp project and also in scripts built into entry points.

Could i create/add custom virtual paths at the project folder before i build the virtual application?

You cannot create own Macro Name. Why do you need such a think? If you want to create system environmental variable, you can do it.

Have a nice day,

VirtuAlex_Z
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Many thanks for your quick answers!

I have not yet reached the point of the documentation... :smileygrin: