VMware Horizon Community
Mishu
Contributor
Contributor

ThinApp Isolation mode question

Hello,

I am new to ThinApp and i have tried to virutalise Skype. The capture process is OK. A have set e default isolation mode to WriteCopy.

When I receive a file via Skype and I try to save it on C:\Temp, the file I saved in my sandbox, which is a normal behaviour, but when I try to save it in the

Root of the C drive C:\, the file is saved to the physical drive. Is it a normal behaviour and if yes, how can I prevent saveing files in the root of the virtual drive.

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
14 Replies
mark_larson
Contributor
Contributor

I think you could change the isolation= to "Full" and it shouldn't allow interaction with the local file system.

0 Kudos
Mishu
Contributor
Contributor

It is the same thing. The only difference is that i can`t see any files or folders.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

This is not normal behavior. If the isolation mode of the c:\ directory is set to WriteCopy, you shouldn't be able to save any files there, they should end up in the sandbox. If your project contains a %drive_C%\##Attributes.ini make sure it specifies WriteCopy in there, if the ##Attributes.ini file isn't present check the default isolation mode in Package.ini. If it is set to WriteCopy you should open a support request so this can be investigated more thoroughly.

0 Kudos
Mishu
Contributor
Contributor

So when i ThinApp Skype, i set WriteCopy isolation mode for the entire capture. Then before the build process in the build directory there is no %dirve_c%. I manually create the virtual drive with NO ##Attributes.ini. Normally it will inherit the isolation mode from the package.ini file which is set to WriteCopy. It doesn`t work. Then i am creating a ##Attributes.ini with DirectoryIsoloationMode=WriteCopy, and rebuilding the project. Stil the sam thing.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Ok, I'd suggest filing a Support Request then.

0 Kudos
Mishu
Contributor
Contributor