VMware Cloud Community
Mark_Jones
Contributor
Contributor

Consistent Results for Application Performance Testing using VM’s

Guys,

One of the more frequent arguments I have with Developers is how they get inconsistent test results when using Virtual Machines for doing application performance testing.

Not being a developer myself I thought I would ask the community for their feedback and experience in this area.

I have read many performance articles that relate to the overall performance of VM's and overheads of virtualisation, but not much about the practical application of application testing.

For completeness lets discuss having 3 VM's on the same ESX host.

My view is that using Resource Pools, Resource Shares and CPU Affinity would guarantee that I have a consistent configuration that can be used testing.

What (in your opinion) do I also need to consider?

I am interested in the guaranteed, consistent performance of each VM, not the contention or overheads of virtualisation.

I would be happy to put the results in a whitepaper if it gets to that.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
davidbarclay
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

What (in your opinion) do I also need to consider?

Things resource pools can't control. In my opinion, the biggest influence on performance you can't control with settings in VC is disk I/O. Typically test/dev (at least on projects I am involved with) ends up with higher consolidation ratios, therefore more chance of contention for resources therefore your issue of unable to provide the exact performance each time.

Just a thought...I'm no testing expert...

Dave

0 Kudos
Gabrie1
Commander
Commander

I to find this very difficult to guarantee. Problem is that your regular tools to measure performance, don't always give correct results. The only reliable performance measurement is by timing transactions. How long will it take after the user press GO, to complete the query. That sort of things.