diegodco31
Leadership
Leadership

Storage VMotion - SRM

Jump to solution

Please can you help me with this.

A general system error occurred:

Warning: This virtual machine is protected by VMware Site Recovery Manager. Migrating the VM from a replicated and protected datastore 'XXXXXXXXX' to a non-replicated datastore will cause the VM to become non-replicated and you will not be able to recover the VM using Site Recovery Manager in case of a disaster. Do not proceed unless you understand the potential data loss involved. Note: You can migrate the VM to a datastore that resides in the same consistency group as 'XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX' without any issue.

Checking my vcenter i found some tags

Diego Oliveira LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/dcodiego
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
basher
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

You can disable SRM creation of these tags. Please review this page about the SRM advanced settings:

Site Recovery Manager 6.1 Documentation Center

More specifically this setting: storage.enableSdrsTaggingRepair to stop SRM from adding tags to the datastores and VMs again. Also, you can disable this setting: storage.enableSdrsTagging in order to completely disable the interaction between SRM and Storage DRS.

What SRM tries to prevent you from doing is losing DR protection of a VM by moving it to a non-replicated storage. You wouldn't want to violate your Business Continuity plan.

Director - VMware Site Recovery Manager

View solution in original post

7 Replies
basher
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

I'm assuming from your question that you are not using SRM or SRM is not protecting the VM you are trying to SVmotion?

Director - VMware Site Recovery Manager
0 Kudos
diegodco31
Leadership
Leadership

how to delete this alert?

Is this because of the tags?

Diego Oliveira LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/dcodiego
0 Kudos
basher
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Yes, it is because of the tags. When Storage VMotion sees those tags, it will show this warning.

Be advised that if you still have SRM installed and working, it will re-create those tags automatically soon after you delete them.

Director - VMware Site Recovery Manager
diegodco31
Leadership
Leadership

I have SRM installed and working.

how to remove this warning?

Diego Oliveira LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/dcodiego
0 Kudos
basher
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

You can disable SRM creation of these tags. Please review this page about the SRM advanced settings:

Site Recovery Manager 6.1 Documentation Center

More specifically this setting: storage.enableSdrsTaggingRepair to stop SRM from adding tags to the datastores and VMs again. Also, you can disable this setting: storage.enableSdrsTagging in order to completely disable the interaction between SRM and Storage DRS.

What SRM tries to prevent you from doing is losing DR protection of a VM by moving it to a non-replicated storage. You wouldn't want to violate your Business Continuity plan.

Director - VMware Site Recovery Manager

View solution in original post

diegodco31
Leadership
Leadership

After disabled this option. Receive the warning.

Diego Oliveira LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/dcodiego
0 Kudos
rcporto
Leadership
Leadership

Are you sure that source and destination datastore are replicated and on the same consistency group? If the answer for any of the question is no, that message is the expected behavior.

---

Richardson Porto
Senior Infrastructure Specialist
LinkedIn: http://linkedin.com/in/richardsonporto
0 Kudos