VMware Cloud Community
RyanH84
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

SRM 5.5 using EMC SRDF. Recovery completes but reprotect fails

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to SRM but have been plugging away setting up a new environment which is using:

vCenter 5.5 u1  (Both Sites)

Solutions Enabler 8.0.1.0-1953

EMC SRDF Adapater (SRA) = 5.6.0  VMAX 20k

EMC SRDF SRA Utilities (VSI) = 5.7.0.2

SRM = 5.5.1.8569

I've been following documentation provided by Cody Hosterman  ~which is superb and has gotten me almost to the end.  I've been able to successfully fail over (Recovery) a VM using a test Recovery Plan from Site A to Site B. It worked great.

We are not using TimeFinder (not licensed) and so when we perform a recovery the expected behavior happened that the SRDF link has been broken. The state of the R1 device at Site A has become Write Disabled. The R2 device in Site B has become Read/Write and the state of the device group is in "Failed Over". This is in Asynchronous SRDF mode.

Upon trying to "Reprotect" the group, I see errors relating to configuring the storage to reverse direction.

http://i.imgur.com/zWiGtT5.png

I've checked the EmcSrdfSra log as suggested on the now primary site SRM server and it appears that there is an error shortly after a new consistency group is created.

http://i.imgur.com/5hZT8HQ.png

I've raised a support call with EMC with this directly as a first port of call but it is in it's infancy so I thought I'd ask if anyone has any clue what might be going wrong here. I've exhausted my googleFU skills and am at the stage of trying to get some experienced eyes on the issue. I'm happy to provide more information if needed or answer any questions anyone might have.

Really hope someone can assist!

Thanks!

Ryan

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Regards, Ryan vExpert, VCP5, VCAP5-DCA, MCITP, VCE-CIAE, NPP4 @vRyanH http://vRyan.co.uk
0 Kudos