VMware Cloud Community
xianmacx
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Recovery site questions: Domain Controller/Vcenter

Guys,

I am new to SRM.  I have a couple questions about the infrastructure setup for the Recovery Site.

1.  My protected site vcenter is broken out into seperate roles, VC/SQL.  On the recovery site for sake of simplicity I would like to just have a single VC server with SQL express.  Do you guys see any issues with that? 

2.  What else should always live at the recovery site from an infrastructure perspective?  Do I need a domain controller or can I just add my Recovery Site vcenter server to the existing DC at the Protected site?

Thanks in advance,

Ian

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mal_michael
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

Hi,

You should have AD / DNS server at the recovery site as well. If your vCenter  / SRM are joined to the domain, it will be problematic for them to communicate / authenticate.

Michael.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
athlon_crazy
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

xianmacx wrote:

Guys,

I am new to SRM.  I have a couple questions about the infrastructure setup for the Recovery Site.

1.  My protected site vcenter is broken out into seperate roles, VC/SQL.  On the recovery site for sake of simplicity I would like to just have a single VC server with SQL express.  Do you guys see any issues with that? 

2.  What else should always live at the recovery site from an infrastructure perspective?  Do I need a domain controller or can I just add my Recovery Site vcenter server to the existing DC at the Protected site?

Thanks in advance,

Ian

1. Things you may need to consider:

• No. of VMs - it may reflect the size of the database required. If you only have less than 50 VMs, 4GB SQLExpress limitation should be okay,
  • SQL Recovery mode - it may reflect your database size as well. So, please consider it too especially when you choose full recovery mode,