VMware Cloud Community
jftwp
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Need to regularly reconfigure pairing - by design?

SRM 6.1.1 build 3884620

2 SRM sites deployed/paired.

vCenter 6.0 U2, build 3634794

Single SSO domain, single SSO logical site.

External PSC deployment model.


Everything working fine, install went fine, but most times when I go into the web client to administer the SRM environment, I need to "Reconfigure Pairing" to the alternate site (depending on which vCenter server I'm logged on to primarily) because the 'Paired Site' will show 'Not Connected' under the site summary tab and there will be authentication-related errors in the other tabs (such as under Manage) until I reconfigure pairing.  Once I reconfigure, all is fine.  I reconfigure using the same credentials I am already logged on with since my account (AD directory source within vSphere SSO/PSC) has GLOBAL administrator level permissions.


That all said, in our 'legacy' SRM+vCenter v5.1 environment, every time you go in to the thick client to administer via the SRM plugin, the remote site requests credentials and, once provided, it's all good.


So is it 'by design' that one must authenticate (5.1) or 'reconfigure' (6.x) when using SRM, or is something amiss with my configuration.  I really only care about the 6.x environment going forward since the 5.x will soon be retired.  Thought I'd put out the feelers here first before going so far as to open a ticket only to be told that's expected (need to re-up token or whatever within SSO/SRM6 environment).  Thanks.



Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
vbrowncoat
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

That doesn't seem normal/by design and I wouldn't consider it expected. I have a similar configuration and I've never had to login or reconnect after the initial configuration. If you weren't using the same SSO domain at both sites you might have to login like you do in your 5.1 environment, but with the same domain you definitely shouldn't have to.

That said, I don't know what would cause this. I would suggest opening an SR and looking through your logs.

View solution in original post

Reply
0 Kudos
2 Replies
vbrowncoat
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

That doesn't seem normal/by design and I wouldn't consider it expected. I have a similar configuration and I've never had to login or reconnect after the initial configuration. If you weren't using the same SSO domain at both sites you might have to login like you do in your 5.1 environment, but with the same domain you definitely shouldn't have to.

That said, I don't know what would cause this. I would suggest opening an SR and looking through your logs.

Reply
0 Kudos
jftwp
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Thanks very much.  I'll probably go ahead and open up a case.