VMware Cloud Community
bluefluke
Contributor
Contributor

Deleted Protection Groups and Recovery Plans but SRM Still Manages

SRM 5.01

vCenter 5.0

Using ARRAY Replciation.

I have successfully impleted a SRM Proof of concept but after deleting the Protection Groups and Recovery Plans, somove of the previous protected VM's still show Managed by SRM.   They have the Standard icon but with the 3 blocks icon (not the normal greyed out icon with the lighting bolt/aka place holders).  Any way to fix that?

Reply
0 Kudos
2 Replies
mal_michael
Commander
Commander

Hi,

Have you tried to remove the affected VMs from inventory and add them back?

Michael.

Reply
0 Kudos
bluefluke
Contributor
Contributor

We did try at first to destroy all the protective groups and recovery groups but no go. Tech support stated it was a bug with 5.0.1 and vCenter.   The SQL DB for vCenter had those VM's still flagged for SRM protection when they really were not.    They gave me a script to run against the DB but it only toggled the VM's to another state (another SRM icon) of protection.   I finally just ended up rebuilding the recovery group/protect groups and did a planned failover to the recovery site and back to the protected site and it synced all back up.    Luckily this was a test farm and not prod.

Reply
0 Kudos