VMware Cloud Community
pszilard
Contributor
Contributor

BlueLane VirtualShield

Disclaimer[/b]: I have no association with BlueLane.

I came across a news item about BlueLane's VirtualShield product for VMWare protection. See http://www.bluelane.com/products/

This looks very useful, labeit pricey for my "one-man" show. I was wondering;

1) Any knowledgeable reader aware of a similar "hypervisor layer" protection product, especially one that is not so expensive?

2) Anyone able to comment on BlueLane's offering?

3) Any recommendations on how best to protect a bunch of VMs running on one host, without wasting cpu on having firewall/anti-virus/anti-spy on every guest OS?

Apologies if this has already been discussed - I am a newbie. Just give me some links, if that is more appropriate.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
23 Replies
Ken_Cline
Champion
Champion

I've not played with it, but there's a virtual appliance posting here[/url]that you might want to check out.

Ken Cline VMware vExpert 2009 VMware Communities User Moderator Blogging at: http://KensVirtualReality.wordpress.com/
0 Kudos
bretti
Expert
Expert

I'm curious what the advantage is for running this at the hypervisor layer vs. a network appliance? Their explanation didn't do much to convince me.

0 Kudos
pszilard
Contributor
Contributor

I certainly have no preference on the architecture, but would really like to be able to install some software on the host os, which would protect all the guest VM's without needing to install individual protection in each, which multiplies cpu overhead.

What is the recommended way to achieve this (at a cost effective level)?

Thnx.

0 Kudos
bretti
Expert
Expert

I'm not sure what is recommended, this is pretty new technology to me. I would think the network appliance would be better off so that you could cover more servers, physical and virtual.