VMware Cloud Community
kingslavcho
Contributor
Contributor

Can't backup with ovftool - transfer closed with outstanding read data remaining

Hello friends, I have a problem exporting my VM from ESXi 6.5.0. I need the vm so I can transfer it on another server. I tried using the web GUI but the exporting failed.. Than I read that there is a tool called ovftool to export VMs for esxi host. I tried exporting with this tool but the export process was not successful. Than I used a tag to export the logs so I can see what is happening but since I am not an expert in VMWare i would like you friends to help me. Thank you

P.S. I am sending you the logs from the ovftool in attachment

0 Kudos
11 Replies
dragance
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

I think it's better to move this question inside global vSphere community here https://communities.vmware.com/t5/VMware-vSphere/ct-p/2000-home

No much related stuff to NSX based topics 👍

BR,

Dragan

0 Kudos
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

@dragance 

Rather than directing the user to create a duplicate thread, choose Report Inappropriate Content from the 3 vertical dot menu to the right of a post and leave a note for a moderator to move it:

Screenshot 2023-01-27 at 14.09.49.png

I've just reported this post using that method, the post should get moved once a moderator takes action.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
dragance
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Thanks @scott28tt - totally correct 👍

BR,

Dragan

0 Kudos
kingslavcho
Contributor
Contributor

Ok I understand that I made a mistake because I am new here. But can we now try to solve my issue? Thank you

0 Kudos
dragance
VMware Employee
VMware Employee