VMware Cloud Community
jsdmc
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

licensing a ESXi Hypervisors to vSphere

Hi

I am looking for an answer by sale dep but 10 days an nothing ... so I try my chance here ...

I am new to vmware environnements, my boss tels me to manage 3 ESXi free hypervisors.
But since there is no vStorage need for incremental backups in free licence i told him to by a vSphere Essential Kit.

Can you confirm, third party backup application (iperius / veeam ...) will works correctly using an essential licencied ESXi host ?

Can you confirm me if it is possible to migrate form free mode to paid mode without loosing datas / reinstalling ?

(ESXi hypevisor and vSphere hosts ISOs are the same ?

Is it just a llcence change on the host web page ?

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community,

you are right, any paid edition unlocks the API that's required by most VM based backup applications. Veeam for example even offers its own Essentials Edition (in 2CPU packs), which may be used with the vSphere Essentials Editions. I'd suggest you lookup the details at their site, and print out the information for your boss.

Yes, all editions use the same binaries, so it's only a matter of assigning the license key to "convert" the Hypervisor to an Essentials Edition.

André

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community,

you are right, any paid edition unlocks the API that's required by most VM based backup applications. Veeam for example even offers its own Essentials Edition (in 2CPU packs), which may be used with the vSphere Essentials Editions. I'd suggest you lookup the details at their site, and print out the information for your boss.

Yes, all editions use the same binaries, so it's only a matter of assigning the license key to "convert" the Hypervisor to an Essentials Edition.

André

0 Kudos
IRIX201110141