VMware Cloud Community
hcpr
Contributor
Contributor

vmware-tools-esx-kmods for newer kernels

Hi.

This might be a question that is already answered somwhere, but I can't find it.

What is the best solution when the OSP Vmware tools package doe snot exist for the current kernel?

This is the case at the moment for Ubuntu 10.04, which is at 2.6.32-38, but the newest kmods package is vmware-tools-esx-kmods-2.6.32-33

I guess the solution is to build the modules manually (or rather via Puppet), but it would be a lot easier to get it automatiocally.

Does anyone know how often the modules package is updated?

Thanks

Message was edited by: hcpr. Corrected some spelling errors

0 Kudos
5 Replies
pieterjanheyse
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I would like to support this question, how are other people solving this? I am new to running linux in VMware, so I would love to be able to get the best performance, and as I understand, tools give me this. I would need the package "vmware-tools-esx-kmods-2.6.32-38-server" but it does not exist, is there no VMware support for ubuntu?

0 Kudos
fltech
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

UPDATE: See next post about Weak versionning... You don't need to compile modules for each new kernel.. youpi!!!

I have adapted the following procedure to build the tools each time a new kernel is released.

http://pookey.co.uk/wordpress/archives/296-installing-vmwares-esxi-guest-tools-on-ubuntu-11-10

This will allow you to update your vmtools from source. kmod seems to be a meta package and I suppose that it contains a prebuild and packaged version of the modules built in the above procedure...

By the way, if you don't use the OSP version of the tools but the "ISO" version from your host, you will need to run the vmware-config-tools.pl each time a new kernel is out anyway.