VMware Cloud Community
olaola619
Contributor
Contributor

Create a VM from a unix hard drive

Hello all,

I'm new at everything related with VM and I beg for your help.

In our factory we have a really old computers (using a kind of UNIX system) used for controlling processes. It is common that they fail and we have to fix them. ¿It is possible to create a VM from them and use them in a new Windows computers? As they are not windows I can't install VM converter or whatever and I try to connect the hard drive (IDE) to a Windows computer but it doesn't reccognise it.

Attached you'll find some captures of the computers.

Thenk you in advance.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
depping
Leadership
Leadership

No and Yes, or Yes and No. This is not an "easy" process if you ask me. You have some extremely old gear, the operating system alone is probably 15 years old and the hardware is also ancient. I am not even sure I would recommend virtualizing this 1:1. I would recommend to sit down with a local expert. Look at the applications that control the factory processes. Figure out if you can run these apps on a newer operating system (LINUX based) and move those apps to the new OS if even possible.

At the same time, I would recommend having a conversation with your management. Discuss how fragile and ancient the current set up is. Ask them to consider funding a project to update the applications that drive the processes. Are these custom apps? Is there anyone still around who initially involved with these? Can the functionality be rewritten/ported to a new platform? They will ask you why they should bother/consider probably. Ask them what the cost would be of the factory being down for weeks if the hardware breaks or if the software stops working for whatever reason.

0 Kudos
olaola619
Contributor
Contributor