VMware Horizon Community
MikeTyler
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

"all desktop resources are in use..."

Hello all

I am relatively new to VMware virtual technologies but I am learning fast. I began supporting a pool of test users last year all on dedicated assigned machines. For the users that travel a lot this has proven to be a great solution. They connect from personal PC or MAC, ipads, etc and mostly have been incident free. Others in the pool however are power desktop users and are in the office 9-5 and like my travel users will connect to their VM using HP 610t thin clients, iPads, Macs, or personal PC's.

Between these two groups, I tend to get more calls from the power desktop group and most of the time its a connection problem. The most common error is "All desktop resources are in use...". At the start, our quick fix for this was to either reset the VM from the View admin console or have the user initiate a reset from their client. In later incidents and to avoid time lost waiting for the user's VM to come back up we began trying other methods. Sometimes just attempting a login from my computer using the View client with the users creds would fix the connect problem and the user could then get in. More recently we have learned that simply logging the user off of their session from the View admin console will restore connectivity again. Why is this?