VMware Horizon Community
thewoo
Contributor
Contributor

need assistance in setting up VMware View

I'm a VMware beginner who is trying to set up a VMware View environment for testing purposes at work. I was running into some confusion about how to get everything set up, and what I needed to install.

I have two spare systems to work on, as well as my own desktop.

From my understanding (please correct me if I'm wrong), I will install ESX server on one of the systems. The other machine will have the Infrastructure Client and from there, I can create VMs to store on the ESX server. The VMs would be a vCenter (WinXP?), View Connection Server (Win2003), and a fresh copy of Windows XP that will act as the View Agent.

Am I on the right track? Totally wrong? Any tips or help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm trying to follow the instructions on this site (http://www.virtualizationadmin.com/articles-tutorials/vdi-articles/vmware-esx-server/what-vmware-view-3-vdi-offers-how-install.html) but I wanted to come here and get some advice from people who know way more than me.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
jbruelasdgo
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

you would need 1 server for VMware ESX

one instance of Windows 2003 for VirtualCenter (to manage ESX)

one instance of Windows 2003 for AD and DNS, and probably for DHCP

one instance of Windows 2003 in a domain, for VMware View Connection Server

one XP for template, inside the domain and with remote users enabled

one Customization specification associated to the XP template

with the excepcion of ESX, all of the rest can be virtual!!

I hope it points you in the right direction

Jose Ruelas

Jose B Ruelas http://aservir.wordpress.com
thewoo
Contributor
Contributor

Right now I am on the VM that contains View Connection Server and I'm trying to add a Virtual Center Server to be associated with it.

I installed the vCenter Server on another VM, but it won't connect to it. Possibly a port forwarding issue?