VMware Horizon Community
ditro2001
Contributor
Contributor

linked clones - what the hell is the source and the replica entry in VC

Hello together,

I'm new in the view thema Smiley Wink

I've created a xp-master machine in an automatic pool with 2 desktops. View created me 2 clones from my original VM but what the hell are the entrys in the inventory. there is a replica-d71588a6-1725-4f16-b239-ee2b552b835d and a source-dqwefwedfw-2324-32423fwdf entry.

Why are the entry there. can i rename or delete them? What for do I need them??

Questions over Questions....

0 Kudos
11 Replies
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager

Here is a great guide on the breakdown of Linked Clones and how they work on VMware View 3 with some graphical representation/explanation; http://rodos.haywood.org/2008/12/storage-analysis-of-vmware-view.html

=========================================================================

William Lam

VMware vExpert 2009

VMware ESX/ESXi scripts and resources at:

VMware Code Central - Scripts/Sample code for Developers and Administrators

If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".

0 Kudos
ditro2001
Contributor
Contributor

thanks a lot.

but why are the entrys in the inventory? It seems to be a virtual machine.

I've attached a screenshot!

0 Kudos
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager

Not sure...that's how it was implemented, perhaps they could have hidden it from users. I just know that you should not try to modify the Linked Clones manually through vCenter and use View Manager to do so.

FYI - replica is a virtual machine

=========================================================================

William Lam

VMware vExpert 2009

VMware ESX/ESXi scripts and resources at:

VMware Code Central - Scripts/Sample code for Developers and Administrators

If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".

0 Kudos
ditro2001
Contributor
Contributor