VMware Horizon Community
Neonewbie
Contributor
Contributor

how many virtual clients?

Hi guys sorry but a total newbie question here.

been re directed from the ESXI forum.

I have been told that this VMWARE VIEW 4 is the product to have if i want to diploy and manage many virtual machines for my clients to access.

I guess my first few questions for you are.

4 questions

1.How many virtual client can you create on one typical server say with a quad core G5 WITH 32GB ram?

2.And is there a limit to how many users. and servers?

3.is it a bare metal install? right on server?

4.can it be accessed by RDP as well as PcOIP?

0 Kudos
7 Replies
chaz112182
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

1) can't really give you an exact figure in terms of how many vms per host. it's going to be determined by how much cpu, memory, etc you give to each machine. if you do some research you'll find that a lot of people recommend roughly 7vms per core. here is a good white paper on sizing your environment:

www.virtuall.eu/download-document/vdi-storage-deep-impact-v1-1

2) view can scale out to support thousands and thousands of users.

3) view has several components. at a minimum you'll need a windows server 2003 machine (virtual is fine) to install the view connection server on. if you want to use linked clones you'll need to install some additional software on your vcenter server. if you want to give your users remote access you'll need another server (again virtual is fine) to run view security server from.

4) rdp and pcoip are both supported.

hope that helps.

0 Kudos
Neonewbie
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks ill look through the paper.

Wow i Really thought it would hold more Vms per core.

so an average server from Dell lets say will only hold well less than 20 VMS?

and looking at pricing for the VMware 4 enterprise starter , it mentions that it has licensed for 10 desktop VMs. ?

so am i right in thinking here that to set up and support 20 VMms.

I would need server costing say £2000.